Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-20-2011, 16:01   #31
Mortysteve~
Morteh
 
Mortysteve~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: England.
Posts: 2,381
Mortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Janix View Post
Pfft.. Both versions are fine in English you numpty.
*grumbles* that's just what a yank would say ..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob the Builder View Post
3 inches, big difference.
Dirty ****er.
Mortysteve~ is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-20-2011, 16:03   #32
Cloud~
~pnolɔ
 
Cloud~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Belgium || post count on panda: 13k
Posts: 3,647
Cloud~ has a reputation beyond reputeCloud~ has a reputation beyond reputeCloud~ has a reputation beyond reputeCloud~ has a reputation beyond reputeCloud~ has a reputation beyond reputeCloud~ has a reputation beyond reputeCloud~ has a reputation beyond reputeCloud~ has a reputation beyond reputeCloud~ has a reputation beyond reputeCloud~ has a reputation beyond reputeCloud~ has a reputation beyond repute
don't worry morty! I realise you are the only one for me <3
__________________
My Anime list
Anime group! join if you are interested

Hive guardian of the OT ninja squad

Got a question about bots or need a quick review? Feel free to throw me a PM.


You're and your. Know the******* difference already.
Cloud~ is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-20-2011, 16:09   #33
Mortysteve~
Morteh
 
Mortysteve~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: England.
Posts: 2,381
Mortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cloud~ View Post
don't worry morty! I realise you are the only one for me <3
this guy knows.

<3
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob the Builder View Post
3 inches, big difference.
Dirty ****er.
Mortysteve~ is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-20-2011, 16:49   #34
Korvacs2.0
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 579
Korvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond repute
If your computer is even moderately upto date it doesnt matter what OS your running. Considering conquers extremely low system requirements without a shadow of a doubt you wont see any performance drop/increase when switching OS.

I personally have played it on Xp, Vista and Windows 7 and theres been no difference at all.
Korvacs2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-21-2011, 06:27   #35
lolen
Registered User
 
lolen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6,840
lolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Korvacs2.0 View Post
If your computer is even moderately upto date it doesnt matter what OS your running. Considering conquers extremely low system requirements without a shadow of a doubt you wont see any performance drop/increase when switching OS.

I personally have played it on Xp, Vista and Windows 7 and theres been no difference at all.
I get FPS issues if I install Co on my Win 7 Comp.

I don't when I use win XP.

Most likely driver issue, but co still isn't build for the Win 7 Kernel so logically it wont run it's best on it compared to if it was actually build for the kernel.
__________________
Class: Troj
Name: Bob~
Guild: Retribution
Level: 130-130-136
Build: Water - War - Troj

Roxas~ Speaks to Bob~: nice bot mark
lolen is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-21-2011, 09:12   #36
Korvacs2.0
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 579
Korvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by lolen View Post
I get FPS issues if I install Co on my Win 7 Comp.

I don't when I use win XP.

Most likely driver issue, but co still isn't build for the Win 7 Kernel so logically it wont run it's best on it compared to if it was actually build for the kernel.
Since windows 7 has an xp emulator built in there shouldn't be any issues with any XP focused software as the emulator is specifically designed to eliminate kernel incompatibilities, with the exception of software which uses 16bit extensions and applications, in which case you will be completely unable to use it as windows 7 does not support 16 bit applications.

I have -never- had -any- compatibility issues with any piece of software for windows 7, that includes at home, and at work with over 800 computers/laptops and 1300 users, perhaps you just have a computer that cant handle windows 7 in addition to other games, in which case you would have issues since windows 7 does require more system resources.

Korvacs2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-22-2011, 02:49   #37
lolen
Registered User
 
lolen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6,840
lolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Korvacs2.0 View Post
Since windows 7 has an xp emulator built in there shouldn't be any issues with any XP focused software as the emulator is specifically designed to eliminate kernel incompatibilities, with the exception of software which uses 16bit extensions and applications, in which case you will be completely unable to use it as windows 7 does not support 16 bit applications.

I have -never- had -any- compatibility issues with any piece of software for windows 7, that includes at home, and at work with over 800 computers/laptops and 1300 users, perhaps you just have a computer that cant handle windows 7 in addition to other games, in which case you would have issues since windows 7 does require more system resources.

In theory no, in reality there is lol. Loads of issues.

Ask any big firm that has been using XP for a long period of time what happens when they install Win 7 ;x some of their applications tend to not work rofl.
__________________
Class: Troj
Name: Bob~
Guild: Retribution
Level: 130-130-136
Build: Water - War - Troj

Roxas~ Speaks to Bob~: nice bot mark
lolen is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-22-2011, 09:08   #38
Korvacs2.0
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 579
Korvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond repute
Ok well where i work, with 800 machines we performed the transition from xp (skipped vista entirely) to Windows 7, and like i said no issues, so perhaps for some people there might be issues, but i have never experienced it, and like i said, for conquer the performance drop you might see is going to be so retardly small its not even worth thinking about, get Windows 7, drop XP. Microsoft has declared Service pack 1 and 2 EOS already, SP3 goes EOS in less than 3 years.

Honestly people need to learn to move with the times <_<"
Korvacs2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-22-2011, 15:49   #39
LinkV2
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 529
LinkV2 has a reputation beyond reputeLinkV2 has a reputation beyond reputeLinkV2 has a reputation beyond reputeLinkV2 has a reputation beyond reputeLinkV2 has a reputation beyond reputeLinkV2 has a reputation beyond reputeLinkV2 has a reputation beyond reputeLinkV2 has a reputation beyond reputeLinkV2 has a reputation beyond reputeLinkV2 has a reputation beyond reputeLinkV2 has a reputation beyond repute
Why would people get a computer for a game like conquer? or is the game actually playing the person?
LinkV2 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-23-2011, 17:48   #40
Korvacs2.0
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 579
Korvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by LinkV2 View Post
Why would people get a computer for a game like conquer? or is the game actually playing the person?
The OP has Windows 7, hes considering down grading, but to answer your question, if your looking to buy a computer specifically for conquer you are almost 7 years behind the times in terms of technology, if you have an Ethernet port on your computer and a cable plugged into it, please remove the cable, tie the other end to the brick which is your CRT monitor and hang yourself with it.

Thank you.
Korvacs2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-24-2011, 02:34   #41
Janix
Banned
 
Janix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: England, Birmingham
Posts: 5,817
Janix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Korvacs2.0 View Post
The OP has Windows 7, hes considering down grading, but to answer your question, if your looking to buy a computer specifically for conquer you are almost 7 years behind the times in terms of technology, if you have an Ethernet port on your computer and a cable plugged into it, please remove the cable, tie the other end to the brick which is your CRT monitor and hang yourself with it.

Thank you.
IMO it heavily depends on what hardware you're running. OP plays on a laptop for starters. Also, I- too, have difficulties with CO on Win7.. Major FPS spikes, not to mention other program incompatability / bugs / random crashes etc.

Granted there are 'work arounds' and 'tweaks' but XP is just a lot more simpler for certain people.. More of a 'plug & play' option!

<3 Good old CRT's... I miss mine.. My cat used to lay on top of it and go to sleep hahah
Janix is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-24-2011, 03:44   #42
Korvacs2.0
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 579
Korvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond repute
Hardware is a major factor, especially when running windows 7, but aslong as your upto spec its no problem at all, and nowadays you can get a windows 7+ spec machine for virtually nothing.

I sort of miss my CRT, but then again having a 19" CRT meant you practically needed 2 desks, 1 just for the screen, the other for keyboard, mouse, arms etc. Your cat must have loved it for the warmth
Korvacs2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-24-2011, 06:17   #43
Janix
Banned
 
Janix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: England, Birmingham
Posts: 5,817
Janix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Korvacs2.0 View Post
I sort of miss my CRT, but then again having a 19" CRT meant you practically needed 2 desks, 1 just for the screen, the other for keyboard, mouse, arms etc. Your cat must have loved it for the warmth
Haha kind of the boat I'm in now.. Using a 42" TV as my monitor and TV at the same time, because I'm too lazy (and cheap) to buy a seperate monitor.. LOL
Janix is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-24-2011, 07:37   #44
Korvacs2.0
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 579
Korvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond reputeKorvacs2.0 has a reputation beyond repute
Ha, i got a nice 24" asus monitor thats very nice, and nowadays you can pick up the same model for like 130 bargain!
Korvacs2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-24-2011, 10:22   #45
Janix
Banned
 
Janix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: England, Birmingham
Posts: 5,817
Janix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Korvacs2.0 View Post
Ha, i got a nice 24" asus monitor thats very nice, and nowadays you can pick up the same model for like 130 bargain!
At first it was too big.. Now I find normal monitors are too small and just aren't the same..
Janix is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:03.