Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-16-2011, 10:40   #1
Knjsm
Registered User
 
Knjsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Caen, France
Posts: 1,023
Knjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond repute
OS'es

I've heared from a friend and a lot of people that CO gameplay is improved under Windows XP instead of 7 or Vista.
So my question is the following one : "What makes it better under XP ?".
Couldn't be FPS since it can't reach 40 and my ping is quite excellent under 7.
__________________
Server : Royalty_EU



Kenji ................. Water - Warrior - Trojan ..... 132-132-135 ... Scarlet Emperor

Narusegawa .... Trojan - Warrior - Water ..... 130-130-130 ... Levanthan Tamer


Brunhild ........... Trojan - Trojan - Trojan ....... 130-130-129 ... Golden Valkyrie


Orion ................. Trojan - Warrior - Archer ... 130-130-129 ... Shining Eagle
Knjsm is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-16-2011, 12:06   #2
Janix
Banned
 
Janix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: England, Birmingham
Posts: 5,817
Janix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knjsm View Post
I've heared from a friend and a lot of people that CO gameplay is improved under Windows XP instead of 7 or Vista.
So my question is the following one : "What makes it better under XP ?".
Couldn't be FPS since it can't reach 40 and my ping is quite excellent under 7.
Erm.. Put simply:

Each OS operates differently. Certain OS's 'hog' certain system resources (more than others) which- in turn effects how your computer runs and outputs certain games. I suppose the newer the OS, the more; 'up to date' they expect your hardware to be and therefore it tries to optimize the way your 'hardware' performs.

Windows XP doesn't use up as much resources as vista/7 does (in most cases)- therefore it has plenty free for CO to take advantage of.

(Hope that answers your question)

Last edited by Janix; 03-16-2011 at 12:14.
Janix is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-16-2011, 12:07   #3
Mortysteve~
Morteh
 
Mortysteve~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: England.
Posts: 2,381
Mortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond repute
If you have more than 1GB of RAM, I wouldn't worry about it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob the Builder View Post
3 inches, big difference.
Dirty ****er.
Mortysteve~ is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-16-2011, 13:42   #4
f00ker-v2.5
Spamobot
 
f00ker-v2.5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sweden ftw (:
Posts: 2,648
f00ker-v2.5 has a reputation beyond reputef00ker-v2.5 has a reputation beyond reputef00ker-v2.5 has a reputation beyond reputef00ker-v2.5 has a reputation beyond reputef00ker-v2.5 has a reputation beyond reputef00ker-v2.5 has a reputation beyond reputef00ker-v2.5 has a reputation beyond reputef00ker-v2.5 has a reputation beyond reputef00ker-v2.5 has a reputation beyond reputef00ker-v2.5 has a reputation beyond reputef00ker-v2.5 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mortysteve~ View Post
If you have more than 1GB of RAM, I wouldn't worry about it.
I would say atleast 2 if u have vista
__________________
You can only be young once. But you can always be immature.
f00ker-v2.5 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-16-2011, 13:50   #5
Knjsm
Registered User
 
Knjsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Caen, France
Posts: 1,023
Knjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond repute
Got 4.
@Janix : Thanks bud. Helped a lot. Was thinking about making a XP partition on my comp for CO.
__________________
Server : Royalty_EU



Kenji ................. Water - Warrior - Trojan ..... 132-132-135 ... Scarlet Emperor

Narusegawa .... Trojan - Warrior - Water ..... 130-130-130 ... Levanthan Tamer


Brunhild ........... Trojan - Trojan - Trojan ....... 130-130-129 ... Golden Valkyrie


Orion ................. Trojan - Warrior - Archer ... 130-130-129 ... Shining Eagle
Knjsm is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-16-2011, 16:25   #6
Janix
Banned
 
Janix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: England, Birmingham
Posts: 5,817
Janix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond reputeJanix has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knjsm View Post
Got 4.
@Janix : Thanks bud. Helped a lot. Was thinking about making a XP partition on my comp for CO.
Coolio, good luck bud.. Let me know if you need any help with anything.
Janix is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-16-2011, 16:27   #7
ProEgy♥
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Off-topic
Posts: 1,574
ProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond reputeProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond reputeProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond reputeProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond reputeProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond reputeProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond reputeProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond reputeProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond reputeProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond reputeProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond reputeProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mortysteve~ View Post
If you have more than 1GB of RAM, I wouldn't worry about it.
2GB of RAM are hardly average
Quote:
Originally Posted by f00ker-v2.5 View Post
I would say atleast 2 if u have vista
^
ProEgy♥ is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-16-2011, 16:36   #8
Mortysteve~
Morteh
 
Mortysteve~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: England.
Posts: 2,381
Mortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProEgy***9829; View Post
2GB of RAM are hardly average
What? 2GB of RAM isn't average? I'd say it is - especially if you're into playing an MMO.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob the Builder View Post
3 inches, big difference.
Dirty ****er.
Mortysteve~ is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-16-2011, 21:40   #9
ProEgy♥
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Off-topic
Posts: 1,574
ProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond reputeProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond reputeProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond reputeProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond reputeProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond reputeProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond reputeProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond reputeProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond reputeProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond reputeProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond reputeProEgy♥ has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mortysteve~ View Post
What? 2GB of RAM isn't average? I'd say it is - especially if you're into playing an MMO.
All 2011 MMO's have high graphics lol, I've seen two at least so far. Besides, if you are going to play 2010-2011 pc games on win7, trust me 2GB of ram are not enough lol. Well they would work, but not as good as you expect.
ProEgy♥ is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-17-2011, 05:40   #10
lolen
Registered User
 
lolen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6,840
lolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond reputelolen has a reputation beyond repute
CO is programmed to support win XP.

Win 7's core is different from win XP's and CO isn't programmed to support it, hense it'll run worse.
__________________
Class: Troj
Name: Bob~
Guild: Retribution
Level: 130-130-136
Build: Water - War - Troj

Roxas~ Speaks to Bob~: nice bot mark
lolen is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-17-2011, 05:55   #11
Taoist~God
Registered User
 
Taoist~God's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: finland
Posts: 1,820
Taoist~God has a reputation beyond reputeTaoist~God has a reputation beyond reputeTaoist~God has a reputation beyond reputeTaoist~God has a reputation beyond reputeTaoist~God has a reputation beyond reputeTaoist~God has a reputation beyond reputeTaoist~God has a reputation beyond reputeTaoist~God has a reputation beyond reputeTaoist~God has a reputation beyond reputeTaoist~God has a reputation beyond reputeTaoist~God has a reputation beyond repute
i could add a question here

W7 atleast the version i got can open programs with older OS'es like vista and win xp.. would doing this make playing better?
__________________
Server:
Royalty [EU]
Characters:
Koff 140
Colonel 138
BleedOnMe 137
Taoist~God is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-17-2011, 09:23   #12
Mortysteve~
Morteh
 
Mortysteve~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: England.
Posts: 2,381
Mortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond reputeMortysteve~ has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProEgy***9829; View Post
All 2011 MMO's have high graphics lol, I've seen two at least so far. Besides, if you are going to play 2010-2011 pc games on win7, trust me 2GB of ram are not enough lol. Well they would work, but not as good as you expect.
What? That has little do with what I said. You should have been more articulate in your post, because it sounded as though you were saying that most people have less than 2GB RAM.

"Hurr, my 2GB RAM laptop won't run Crysis on max settings, hurr." I'm not a moron. I've no idea where you got the idea that I think you can run all games with 2GB of RAM.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob the Builder View Post
3 inches, big difference.
Dirty ****er.
Mortysteve~ is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-17-2011, 09:39   #13
Knjsm
Registered User
 
Knjsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Caen, France
Posts: 1,023
Knjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond reputeKnjsm has a reputation beyond repute
Off topic : I gotta admit Crysis is kinda hard to run with full settings.
__________________
Server : Royalty_EU



Kenji ................. Water - Warrior - Trojan ..... 132-132-135 ... Scarlet Emperor

Narusegawa .... Trojan - Warrior - Water ..... 130-130-130 ... Levanthan Tamer


Brunhild ........... Trojan - Trojan - Trojan ....... 130-130-129 ... Golden Valkyrie


Orion ................. Trojan - Warrior - Archer ... 130-130-129 ... Shining Eagle
Knjsm is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-17-2011, 10:38   #14
Taoist~God
Registered User
 
Taoist~God's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: finland
Posts: 1,820
Taoist~God has a reputation beyond reputeTaoist~God has a reputation beyond reputeTaoist~God has a reputation beyond reputeTaoist~God has a reputation beyond reputeTaoist~God has a reputation beyond reputeTaoist~God has a reputation beyond reputeTaoist~God has a reputation beyond reputeTaoist~God has a reputation beyond reputeTaoist~God has a reputation beyond reputeTaoist~God has a reputation beyond reputeTaoist~God has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knjsm View Post
Off topic : I gotta admit Crysis is kinda hard to run with full settings.
yeah it needs a really good comp to run on the best settings
__________________
Server:
Royalty [EU]
Characters:
Koff 140
Colonel 138
BleedOnMe 137
Taoist~God is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-17-2011, 11:02   #15
Ev|L
Steph =]<3
 
Ev|L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 243
Ev|L has a reputation beyond reputeEv|L has a reputation beyond reputeEv|L has a reputation beyond reputeEv|L has a reputation beyond reputeEv|L has a reputation beyond reputeEv|L has a reputation beyond reputeEv|L has a reputation beyond reputeEv|L has a reputation beyond reputeEv|L has a reputation beyond reputeEv|L has a reputation beyond reputeEv|L has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to Ev|L Send a message via Skype™ to Ev|L
i run crisis on full settings its not that hard but yas my computer is pr0
__________________
First
Queen


Quote:
Varekai~ speaks to SeniorMoment:
hawt!


Martin <3

------> SeniorMoment <-----
Ev|L is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:53.