Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-25-2009, 11:34   #1
Epinephrine
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,309
Epinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond repute
Thumbs up How to prevent your client from crashing :)

Not sure if this works for everybody but whenever my client tends to crash/is crashing I go to:

Task manager (CTRL+ALT+DEL or CTRL+SHIFT+ESC)
and I shutdown: CTFMON.EXE (at processes)

After you've shut down that process Conquer runs smoothly again in an instant.
Mods, please sticky this until TQ fixes the client crashing themselves.

Note: CTFMON.EXE is a Windows XP process, so if you're on Vista and experience client crashes (since last few patches) I don't know the solution.

How to delete CTFMON.EXE from automatic startup:

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windo...is-it-running/

this should prevent it from loading when u start up ur computer!


What is CTFMON.EXE ?

Process name: Alternative User Input Text Input Processor for Office
Product: Windows
Company: Microsoft
File: ctfmon.exe

When you run a Microsoft Office XP program, the file CTFMON.EXE (Ctfmon) runs in the background, even after you quit all Office programs.
Ctfmon.exe monitors the active windows and provides text input service support for speech recognition, handwriting recognition, keyboard, translation, and other alternative user input technologies.

Last edited by Epinephrine; 06-18-2009 at 06:34. Reason: More clarification in the title now
Epinephrine is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-25-2009, 11:39   #2
Doc.ackerson
Community's Choice
 
Doc.ackerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,547
Doc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epinephrine View Post
Not sure if this works for everybody but whenever my client tends to crash/is crashing I go to task manager (CTRL+ALT+DEL or CTRL+SHIFT+ESC) and I shutdown CTFMON.EXE (at processes)
After you've shut down that process Conquer runs smoothly again in an instant.
Mods, please sticky this until TQ fixes the client crashing themselves.
whats that process?

i dont even have it.
Doc.ackerson is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-25-2009, 11:53   #3
Epinephrine
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,309
Epinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc.ackerson View Post
whats that process?

i dont even have it.
Process name: Alternative User Input Text Input Processor for Office
Product: Windows
Company: Microsoft
File: ctfmon.exe

When you run a Microsoft Office XP program, the file CTFMON.EXE (Ctfmon) runs in the background, even after you quit all Office programs.
Ctfmon.exe monitors the active windows and provides text input service support for speech recognition, handwriting recognition, keyboard, translation, and other alternative user input technologies.

PS: You don't have it, does your client crash?

Last edited by Epinephrine; 05-25-2009 at 12:00.
Epinephrine is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-25-2009, 12:01   #4
Doc.ackerson
Community's Choice
 
Doc.ackerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,547
Doc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond repute
I am not running ANY MS Office.. I still have memory usage way way up.. Maybe it helps you and others though.
Doc.ackerson is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-25-2009, 12:10   #5
Epinephrine
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,309
Epinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond reputeEpinephrine has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc.ackerson View Post
I am not running ANY MS Office.. I still have memory usage way way up.. Maybe it helps you and others though.
It helped me and Axel
Btw, this process runs only in Windows XP, maybe you're on Vista or something?
Epinephrine is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-25-2009, 12:16   #6
Doc.ackerson
Community's Choice
 
Doc.ackerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,547
Doc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond reputeDoc.ackerson has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epinephrine View Post
It helped me and Axel
Btw, this process runs only in Windows XP, maybe you're on Vista or something?
vista and
Doc.ackerson is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-28-2009, 04:10   #7
sterf
I kiel yoo
 
sterf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: holland
Posts: 346
sterf has a reputation beyond reputesterf has a reputation beyond reputesterf has a reputation beyond reputesterf has a reputation beyond reputesterf has a reputation beyond reputesterf has a reputation beyond reputesterf has a reputation beyond reputesterf has a reputation beyond reputesterf has a reputation beyond reputesterf has a reputation beyond reputesterf has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epinephrine View Post
It helped me and Axel
Btw, this process runs only in Windows XP, maybe you're on Vista or something?
yay i feel famous >_> and yes it helped me so hope it will work for others
sterf is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-26-2009, 18:28   #8
Draconis71V2
Banned/TQd
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 58
Draconis71V2 has a reputation beyond reputeDraconis71V2 has a reputation beyond reputeDraconis71V2 has a reputation beyond reputeDraconis71V2 has a reputation beyond reputeDraconis71V2 has a reputation beyond reputeDraconis71V2 has a reputation beyond reputeDraconis71V2 has a reputation beyond reputeDraconis71V2 has a reputation beyond reputeDraconis71V2 has a reputation beyond reputeDraconis71V2 has a reputation beyond reputeDraconis71V2 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epinephrine View Post
Process name: Alternative User Input Text Input Processor for Office
Product: Windows
Company: Microsoft
File: ctfmon.exe

When you run a Microsoft Office XP program, the file CTFMON.EXE (Ctfmon) runs in the background, even after you quit all Office programs.
Ctfmon.exe monitors the active windows and provides text input service support for speech recognition, handwriting recognition, keyboard, translation, and other alternative user input technologies.

PS: You don't have it, does your client crash?
Hmm, Considering I do not have _ANY_ office products installed on my system... Hmm... Maybe it's a rogue CTFMON I've got?


Oh, yah, and it always re-enables it's self in the msconfig...

Can stop it manually with ctrl-alt-delete, and under processes.
__________________
Have YOU been TQ'ed latley too?
If so, vote on http://bbs.co.91.com/showthread.php?t=553786 (Remove the popup on logout)
Draconis71V2 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-27-2009, 02:25   #9
OutZydaz
WD4ever
 
OutZydaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,116
OutZydaz has a reputation beyond reputeOutZydaz has a reputation beyond reputeOutZydaz has a reputation beyond reputeOutZydaz has a reputation beyond reputeOutZydaz has a reputation beyond reputeOutZydaz has a reputation beyond reputeOutZydaz has a reputation beyond reputeOutZydaz has a reputation beyond reputeOutZydaz has a reputation beyond reputeOutZydaz has a reputation beyond reputeOutZydaz has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draconis71V2 View Post
Hmm, Considering I do not have _ANY_ office products installed on my system... Hmm... Maybe it's a rogue CTFMON I've got?


Oh, yah, and it always re-enables it's self in the msconfig...

Can stop it manually with ctrl-alt-delete, and under processes.
go to the link i posted.
__________________
~White.Dragons~
OutZydaz is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-28-2009, 21:47   #10
*~BeLLaDonna~*
Registered User
 
*~BeLLaDonna~*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,000
*~BeLLaDonna~* has a reputation beyond repute*~BeLLaDonna~* has a reputation beyond repute*~BeLLaDonna~* has a reputation beyond repute*~BeLLaDonna~* has a reputation beyond repute*~BeLLaDonna~* has a reputation beyond repute*~BeLLaDonna~* has a reputation beyond repute*~BeLLaDonna~* has a reputation beyond repute*~BeLLaDonna~* has a reputation beyond repute*~BeLLaDonna~* has a reputation beyond repute*~BeLLaDonna~* has a reputation beyond repute*~BeLLaDonna~* has a reputation beyond repute
Thanks a lot for that thread =).
*~BeLLaDonna~* is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-30-2009, 01:24   #11
Abay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Abay is on a distinguished road
good day!! when i open up my task manager it doesn't have a CTFMON.EXE on it.... my CO crashes within 15-20mins.in the game here in my laptop,what puzzles me is that, when i play CO in our desktop the games runs smoothly. i guess i could say that my laptop is more faster than our desktop...but the only difference between the two is that my laptop doesn't have a hardware accelerator in its video card while our desktop has...can hardware accelerator affect the game? i would really appreciate if anyone can help with my problem...thank you
Abay is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-26-2009, 04:28   #12
CindyZ
Super Moderator
 
CindyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Conquer
Posts: 7,215
CindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epinephrine View Post
Not sure if this works for everybody but whenever my client tends to crash/is crashing I go to task manager (CTRL+ALT+DEL or CTRL+SHIFT+ESC) and I shutdown CTFMON.EXE (at processes)
After you've shut down that process Conquer runs smoothly again in an instant.
Mods, please sticky this until TQ fixes the client crashing themselves.

Note: CTFMON.EXE is a Windows XP process, so if you're on Vista and experience client crashes (since last few patches) I don't know the solution.

How to delete CTFMON.EXE from automatic startup:

start -> run (Uitvoeren)> type "msconfig" -> press enter -> click startup (Opstarten)-> uncheck (Afvinken) "ctfmon" -> apply (Toepassen)-> reboot (Opnieuw opstarten)

this should prevent it from loading when u start up ur computer!
Thanks for your help. If anyone know other solutions for non-XP user, please post it here. Thanks in advance.
__________________
Be patient, efficient and tolerant to all.
Life is not easy.
CindyZ is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-26-2009, 06:43   #13
OutZydaz
WD4ever
 
OutZydaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,116
OutZydaz has a reputation beyond reputeOutZydaz has a reputation beyond reputeOutZydaz has a reputation beyond reputeOutZydaz has a reputation beyond reputeOutZydaz has a reputation beyond reputeOutZydaz has a reputation beyond reputeOutZydaz has a reputation beyond reputeOutZydaz has a reputation beyond reputeOutZydaz has a reputation beyond reputeOutZydaz has a reputation beyond reputeOutZydaz has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by CindyZ View Post
Thanks for your help. If anyone know other solutions for non-XP user, please post it here. Thanks in advance.
its still not 100 pct confirmed, and the main cause is patch 5127!!!

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windo...is-it-running/
this website shows u how to remove it from XP and from Vista

it also tells u what it is for!
and i would like 2 add it confirms what i thought was causing the freezes in the 1st place.

ur developers or should i say "developers", only copied and pasted the programming of the new patch ( maybe even just the patch ) from chinese CO.

they should start by removing all and i mean ALL the chinese input in the programming!!!

this will also explain why many have problems with their keyboard settings!
actually it wouldnt surprise me if it would clear up all the bugs found since patch 5127
__________________
~White.Dragons~

Last edited by OutZydaz; 05-26-2009 at 07:05.
OutZydaz is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-29-2010, 10:26   #14
Habebty
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 85
Habebty is on a distinguished road
right

Quote:
Originally Posted by OutZydaz View Post
its still not 100 pct confirmed, and the main cause is patch 5127!!!

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windo...is-it-running/
this website shows u how to remove it from XP and from Vista

it also tells u what it is for!
and i would like 2 add it confirms what i thought was causing the freezes in the 1st place.

ur developers or should i say "developers", only copied and pasted the programming of the new patch ( maybe even just the patch ) from chinese CO.

they should start by removing all and i mean ALL the chinese input in the programming!!!

this will also explain why many have problems with their keyboard settings!
actually it wouldnt surprise me if it would clear up all the bugs found since patch 5127
and nobody talking about the Trojan.Generic found when installing the client?if this is the spy of TQ..why they didnt pack it better?because my antivirus doesnt let me finishing install unless i ignore(skip)the "infected" files."programmers" payed to do what?to freeze me and to crash client...and if they use spy for bot...why so many botters in all servers?good "developers"...just lets do their jobs and record the "botters" ...who needs to play anyway?get urself the gamecam to help TQ...they are so helpless...poor TQ
Habebty is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-14-2009, 15:13   #15
Nephim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Nephim is on a distinguished road
thnks dude helped for me and its quite annoying when someone whispers you is the cause of the crash:P

Last edited by Nephim; 06-14-2009 at 15:14. Reason: i hate my english -.-
Nephim is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:52.


You Rated this Thread: