Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 06-30-2009, 07:37   #1
isti37
Tigger
 
isti37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Europe, ℜomania
Posts: 326
isti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond repute
Thumbs up How to get rid of some lag and win some fps. (Game Booster FAQ)

These days I searched for a method to improve the performance of Windows 7 and I tripped over on Game Booster. It's a free software developed by IObit.
After I tried it I can say that it really improves the performance if you got an old windows installation and you are lazy to delete all useless crap running in the backround or you got Windows Vista or Windows 7 which has useless crap from the start. Game Booster will close them and re-open them with just one click. A friend could save almost 649 mb of ram with it. I saved only 117 on Windows 7 but it worths it.
(If you got only 1 gb or 512 mb of ram probabilly this is a blessing for you)

It's working on Windows 2000,Windows Xp,Windows Vista and Windows 7. I recommend it especially for Windows Vista and 7.

You can download it and get more info on the official website :
http://www.iobit.com/gamebooster.html

I hope I helped some of you to get a smoother gameplay.
You can ask questions here...
But I think that even the dumbest of the dum dum salad can understand it.

GL & HF
__________________
I ***9829; TQ - They are trying to improve everything except the game.

The basic ninja :
Who needs fastblade ? I have Twofold Blades
Who needs superman ? Fatal strike is way faster.
Who needs poison blade,tornado ? I have toxic fog and poisonous shuriken !
Who needs reflect ? I can do a counter kill faster than a blink of an eye.
Who needs dodge ? It's a waste of a skill ! I like to bane the archers and make them run to their mommies.

Last edited by isti37; 06-30-2009 at 08:06. Reason: If this is not the right category or if we are not allowed to share other software a mod please move it to the right place.
isti37 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-30-2009, 09:30   #2
Clenk~V.7
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,016
Clenk~V.7 has a reputation beyond reputeClenk~V.7 has a reputation beyond reputeClenk~V.7 has a reputation beyond reputeClenk~V.7 has a reputation beyond reputeClenk~V.7 has a reputation beyond reputeClenk~V.7 has a reputation beyond reputeClenk~V.7 has a reputation beyond reputeClenk~V.7 has a reputation beyond reputeClenk~V.7 has a reputation beyond reputeClenk~V.7 has a reputation beyond reputeClenk~V.7 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by isti37 View Post
These days I searched for a method to improve the performance of Windows 7 and I tripped over on Game Booster. It's a free software developed by IObit.
After I tried it I can say that it really improves the performance if you got an old windows installation and you are lazy to delete all useless crap running in the backround or you got Windows Vista or Windows 7 which has useless crap from the start. Game Booster will close them and re-open them with just one click. A friend could save almost 649 mb of ram with it. I saved only 117 on Windows 7 but it worths it.
(If you got only 1 gb or 512 mb of ram probabilly this is a blessing for you)

It's working on Windows 2000,Windows Xp,Windows Vista and Windows 7. I recommend it especially for Windows Vista and 7.

You can download it and get more info on the official website :
http://www.iobit.com/gamebooster.html

I hope I helped some of you to get a smoother gameplay.
You can ask questions here...
But I think that even the dumbest of the dum dum salad can understand it.

GL & HF
Or you can learn how to use msconfig to prevent stuff from opening to begin with?
Clenk~V.7 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-30-2009, 10:39   #3
Himie
Nipah~
 
Himie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Summoner's Rift
Posts: 4,819
Himie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to Himie
I just turn off aero it drops my fps to 20-30 and causes weird graphic artifacs all over my desktop... disabled i get 40fps and no artifacts =D
__________________
SnowWhite Vashti Tro>War 130>103
Moderator for Virgo, FAQ, Meteor, Bugs & Constellations.
I am not Vidster-Hime! moar like angel


MyAnimeList
Himie is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-30-2009, 10:52   #4
isti37
Tigger
 
isti37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Europe, ℜomania
Posts: 326
isti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clenk~V.7 View Post
Or you can learn how to use msconfig to prevent stuff from opening to begin with?
Maybe but in most cases you have to be really curious to search over 30 Microsoft processes/services on google to find out which is important and which isn't.

Or you might end up learning how to use the recovery console ?
__________________
I ***9829; TQ - They are trying to improve everything except the game.

The basic ninja :
Who needs fastblade ? I have Twofold Blades
Who needs superman ? Fatal strike is way faster.
Who needs poison blade,tornado ? I have toxic fog and poisonous shuriken !
Who needs reflect ? I can do a counter kill faster than a blink of an eye.
Who needs dodge ? It's a waste of a skill ! I like to bane the archers and make them run to their mommies.

Last edited by isti37; 06-30-2009 at 11:00.
isti37 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-30-2009, 10:59   #5
Himie
Nipah~
 
Himie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Summoner's Rift
Posts: 4,819
Himie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to Himie
Quote:
Originally Posted by isti37 View Post
recovery console.
*hides in a corner crying* RECOVERY CONSOLE NOOO!!!!! bad memories come into my mind.... 500gb lost of anime and stuff D:
__________________
SnowWhite Vashti Tro>War 130>103
Moderator for Virgo, FAQ, Meteor, Bugs & Constellations.
I am not Vidster-Hime! moar like angel


MyAnimeList
Himie is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-30-2009, 14:10   #6
isti37
Tigger
 
isti37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Europe, ℜomania
Posts: 326
isti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond reputeisti37 has a reputation beyond repute
Lulz, you have rad somewhere that by writing format C: you recover your data ? )
__________________
I ***9829; TQ - They are trying to improve everything except the game.

The basic ninja :
Who needs fastblade ? I have Twofold Blades
Who needs superman ? Fatal strike is way faster.
Who needs poison blade,tornado ? I have toxic fog and poisonous shuriken !
Who needs reflect ? I can do a counter kill faster than a blink of an eye.
Who needs dodge ? It's a waste of a skill ! I like to bane the archers and make them run to their mommies.
isti37 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-30-2009, 14:41   #7
eeyore
Registered User
 
eeyore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: the house next to my car
Posts: 8,954
eeyore has a reputation beyond reputeeeyore has a reputation beyond reputeeeyore has a reputation beyond reputeeeyore has a reputation beyond reputeeeyore has a reputation beyond reputeeeyore has a reputation beyond reputeeeyore has a reputation beyond reputeeeyore has a reputation beyond reputeeeyore has a reputation beyond reputeeeyore has a reputation beyond reputeeeyore has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by isti37 View Post
Lulz, you have rad somewhere that by writing format C: you recover your data ? )
Last I checked even in XP you couldn't format from the command prompt. Also, you'd need the letter Y after it to tell it yes your sure you want to erase all data.

If you need the recovery console after messing around in MS Config, you didn't learn enough about it, did you?
__________________
Old hosting Company was a ***** so got a new one
http://dem0nix.110mb.com/

If you spend your day worrying about tomorrow, you'll miss the joys that could have been today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by *Sonne*
oh Loosh, I love stroking your...keyboard. It feels so great
Join the lawsuit against TQ for illegal banning of characters!
eeyore is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-30-2009, 15:07   #8
Himie
Nipah~
 
Himie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Summoner's Rift
Posts: 4,819
Himie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to Himie
Quote:
Originally Posted by isti37 View Post
Lulz, you have rad somewhere that by writing format C: you recover your data ? )
I'm not that stupid but seriously I don't know what happened one day I came back from playing Brawl with some friends, turn on the computer but the boot screen would suddenly mutate into a blue screen and restart the computer I'm like WTF o_O the cycle never ended it would always do the same so I tried recovery console to try and fix the boot files, could login and enjoy my laptop again, few days later its time to restart it but suddenly I would get "Cannot find boot record. press any key to continue", go back to recovery console mess with it again keep getting the message, decide to back up everything using parted magic live cuz I wanted to format but it would say Disk C: 0% used disk is empty or corrupted *eye twitch twitch twitch* ...............................*long sad disturbing silence while my eye keeps twitching*........................................ ... desperately go find my old ubuntu 7.10 live installer CD to see if it can find my disk but not even ubuntu live would find it D: tried everything but ended up formatting D:

It was sad... really sad of all that 500gb I had of anime I probably only watched 300gb~ I blame everything on recovery console!! I decided never to mess with it again.
__________________
SnowWhite Vashti Tro>War 130>103
Moderator for Virgo, FAQ, Meteor, Bugs & Constellations.
I am not Vidster-Hime! moar like angel


MyAnimeList
Himie is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-30-2009, 18:07   #9
hotshot888
Hetshet
 
hotshot888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,089
hotshot888 has a reputation beyond reputehotshot888 has a reputation beyond reputehotshot888 has a reputation beyond reputehotshot888 has a reputation beyond reputehotshot888 has a reputation beyond reputehotshot888 has a reputation beyond reputehotshot888 has a reputation beyond reputehotshot888 has a reputation beyond reputehotshot888 has a reputation beyond reputehotshot888 has a reputation beyond reputehotshot888 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clenk~V.7 View Post
Or you can learn how to use msconfig to prevent stuff from opening to begin with?
my thoughts exactly

Quote:
Originally Posted by isti37 View Post
Maybe but in most cases you have to be really curious to search over 30 Microsoft processes/services on google to find out which is important and which isn't.
trial and error with a teeny bit of common sense?


Quote:
Originally Posted by eeyore View Post
Last I checked even in XP you couldn't format from the command prompt.
you can do a format, but to format the active windows partition you have to do a force dismount, which most of the time causes BSOD or crash lock up, ect.


If you want to save ram, use the old school windows classic GUI, or ctrl alt del and end explorer.exe and launch things through task managed. I used to do that on my old computer to play CnC Generals. Keep in mind though, you can easily restart explorer by typing explorer in the run box
__________________
February 2004 ~ August 2008
To all Conquer friends, past and present
Peace Through Power
hotshot888 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-02-2009, 00:34   #10
CindyZ
Super Moderator
 
CindyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Conquer
Posts: 7,215
CindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by isti37 View Post
These days I searched for a method to improve the performance of Windows 7 and I tripped over on Game Booster. It's a free software developed by IObit.
After I tried it I can say that it really improves the performance if you got an old windows installation and you are lazy to delete all useless crap running in the backround or you got Windows Vista or Windows 7 which has useless crap from the start. Game Booster will close them and re-open them with just one click. A friend could save almost 649 mb of ram with it. I saved only 117 on Windows 7 but it worths it.
(If you got only 1 gb or 512 mb of ram probabilly this is a blessing for you)

It's working on Windows 2000,Windows Xp,Windows Vista and Windows 7. I recommend it especially for Windows Vista and 7.

You can download it and get more info on the official website :
http://www.iobit.com/gamebooster.html

I hope I helped some of you to get a smoother gameplay.
You can ask questions here...
But I think that even the dumbest of the dum dum salad can understand it.

GL & HF

Has someone tried it out? Is it useful?
__________________
Be patient, efficient and tolerant to all.
Life is not easy.
CindyZ is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-02-2009, 08:54   #11
Himie
Nipah~
 
Himie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Summoner's Rift
Posts: 4,819
Himie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond reputeHimie has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to Himie
Quote:
Originally Posted by CindyZ View Post

Has someone tried it out? Is it useful?
I tried it and it does make gameplay a bit better
__________________
SnowWhite Vashti Tro>War 130>103
Moderator for Virgo, FAQ, Meteor, Bugs & Constellations.
I am not Vidster-Hime! moar like angel


MyAnimeList
Himie is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-03-2009, 01:28   #12
CindyZ
Super Moderator
 
CindyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Conquer
Posts: 7,215
CindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond reputeCindyZ has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Himie View Post
I tried it and it does make gameplay a bit better
Thanks for your response, starfish.
__________________
Be patient, efficient and tolerant to all.
Life is not easy.
CindyZ is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-09-2009, 00:21   #13
jslickman26
Registered User
 
jslickman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: out there
Posts: 25
jslickman26 has a reputation beyond reputejslickman26 has a reputation beyond reputejslickman26 has a reputation beyond reputejslickman26 has a reputation beyond reputejslickman26 has a reputation beyond reputejslickman26 has a reputation beyond reputejslickman26 has a reputation beyond reputejslickman26 has a reputation beyond reputejslickman26 has a reputation beyond reputejslickman26 has a reputation beyond reputejslickman26 has a reputation beyond repute
Im using Vista with the Game Booster, plus I went into Control Panel \ System and Maintenance \ Performance Information and Tools, to adjust visual effects for the best performance of vista, then changed power settings and that has seemed to make a big difference for me. I can stay logged in alot longer than when this leak first started 4-8 hrs. Now I'm in from maint. to maint. Hope I gave useful info, otherwise disregard. I forgot to mention I am using a memory optimizer also. Its nothing special just something I found on Download.com

Last edited by jslickman26; 07-09-2009 at 00:32.
jslickman26 is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-11-2009, 04:28   #14
ycma
phuh
 
ycma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CnZboy living in The Netherlands
Posts: 35
ycma is an unknown quantity at this point
Thanks for the info and program, it helped me a lot, since I only got 1gb ram and vista prem on it. It was lagging all the time, but now it is more running smooth, thanks
__________________
ycma is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-18-2009, 05:20   #15
Ev|L
Steph =]<3
 
Ev|L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 243
Ev|L has a reputation beyond reputeEv|L has a reputation beyond reputeEv|L has a reputation beyond reputeEv|L has a reputation beyond reputeEv|L has a reputation beyond reputeEv|L has a reputation beyond reputeEv|L has a reputation beyond reputeEv|L has a reputation beyond reputeEv|L has a reputation beyond reputeEv|L has a reputation beyond reputeEv|L has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to Ev|L Send a message via Skype™ to Ev|L
Quote:
Originally Posted by Himie View Post
*hides in a corner crying* RECOVERY CONSOLE NOOO!!!!! bad memories come into my mind.... 500gb lost of anime and stuff D:

I done that last night >
__________________
First
Queen


Quote:
Varekai~ speaks to SeniorMoment:
hawt!


Martin <3

------> SeniorMoment <-----
Ev|L is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:15.


You Rated this Thread: