Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-19-2014, 17:21   #1
~Ahmed~
1337
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ****hole
Posts: 8,898
~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute
Disk management.

I know OT is dead and thread may not get replies but anyways;

I bought a new HDD today (500gb), and together with my current 320gb HDD I thought it would suffice. Should I reinstall windows on the new drive or keep it as it is.

Should I trust third party software like partition magic to manage/allocate disk space on my old drive? I intend to increase the size of the system drive without having to re install.

Any suggestions? Perhaps, tips?

Thanks.
__________________
A brief taste of chaos will remind them why they crave obedience.
~Ahmed~ is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-19-2014, 17:26   #2
Returning
Retired.
 
Returning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,689
Returning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Ahmed~ View Post
I know OT is dead and thread may not get replies but anyways;

I bought a new HDD today (500gb), and together with my current 320gb HDD I thought it would suffice. Should I reinstall windows on the new drive or keep it as it is.

Should I trust third party software like partition magic to manage/allocate disk space on my old drive? I intend to increase the size of the system drive without having to re install.

Any suggestions? Perhaps, tips?

Thanks.
Just partition the new drive using windows, then use it as storage etc.

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/create-format-hard-disk-partition#create-format-hard-disk-partition=windows-7
Returning is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-19-2014, 17:54   #3
~Ahmed~
1337
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ****hole
Posts: 8,898
~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Returning View Post
Just partition the new drive using windows, then use it as storage etc.

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/create-format-hard-disk-partition#create-format-hard-disk-partition=windows-7
I just used a third party software and I think I did it smoothly, without having to format the drive which I had to shrink to free space. I had the unallocated space go into the system drive. All went well. So am I missing something here? Am I getting errors later for not formatting?

As for the new HDD I'm just keeping it as it is to store stuff.
__________________
A brief taste of chaos will remind them why they crave obedience.
~Ahmed~ is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-19-2014, 18:47   #4
Returning
Retired.
 
Returning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,689
Returning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Ahmed~ View Post
I just used a third party software and I think I did it smoothly, without having to format the drive which I had to shrink to free space. I had the unallocated space go into the system drive. All went well. So am I missing something here? Am I getting errors later for not formatting?

As for the new HDD I'm just keeping it as it is to store stuff.
If you have errors then it is probably from not formatting before partitioning the hard drive. Other than that I couldn't really tell you much, I know the windows partition tool if I recall right formats then partitions for you.
Returning is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-19-2014, 19:26   #5
~Ahmed~
1337
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ****hole
Posts: 8,898
~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Returning View Post
If you have errors then it is probably from not formatting before partitioning the hard drive. Other than that I couldn't really tell you much, I know the windows partition tool if I recall right formats then partitions for you.
I read somewhere that if you're on win7/8 you don't need to format before partitioning/resizing a drive.
__________________
A brief taste of chaos will remind them why they crave obedience.
~Ahmed~ is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-19-2014, 22:26   #6
Returning
Retired.
 
Returning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,689
Returning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Ahmed~ View Post
I read somewhere that if you're on win7/8 you don't need to format before partitioning/resizing a drive.
This may be the case, I only ever formatted when I did a fresh install. This was to get rid of corrupt/old files competely
Returning is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-20-2014, 00:49   #7
Deathclaw
Registered User
 
Deathclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10,127
Deathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond repute
Oh god
Deathclaw is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-20-2014, 04:00   #8
~Ahmed~
1337
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ****hole
Posts: 8,898
~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathclaw View Post
Oh god
Oh god what? It is working fine.
__________________
A brief taste of chaos will remind them why they crave obedience.
~Ahmed~ is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-20-2014, 11:48   #9
Deathclaw
Registered User
 
Deathclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10,127
Deathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Ahmed~ View Post
Oh god what? It is working fine.
Who cares if it works fine. It was simply stupid, but then again I think that u only posted here in order to let the world know how stupid u are.
Deathclaw is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-20-2014, 12:31   #10
~Ahmed~
1337
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ****hole
Posts: 8,898
~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathclaw View Post
Who cares if it works fine. It was simply stupid, but then again I think that u only posted here in order to let the world know how stupid u are.
Yes.
__________________
A brief taste of chaos will remind them why they crave obedience.
~Ahmed~ is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-20-2014, 15:27   #11
Octavia
Registered User
 
Octavia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 377
Octavia has a reputation beyond reputeOctavia has a reputation beyond reputeOctavia has a reputation beyond reputeOctavia has a reputation beyond reputeOctavia has a reputation beyond reputeOctavia has a reputation beyond reputeOctavia has a reputation beyond reputeOctavia has a reputation beyond reputeOctavia has a reputation beyond reputeOctavia has a reputation beyond reputeOctavia has a reputation beyond repute
You should buy an SSD, install windows there along with a few programs, and use your HDD for all your other ****.
Octavia is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-20-2014, 15:29   #12
Returning
Retired.
 
Returning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,689
Returning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond reputeReturning has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Octavia View Post
You should buy an SSD, install windows there along with a few programs, and use your HDD for all your other ****.
SSD speed is negligible depending what type of hd you have. A few seconds sure, but meh.
Returning is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-20-2014, 19:08   #13
Deathclaw
Registered User
 
Deathclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10,127
Deathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Returning View Post
SSD speed is negligible depending what type of hd you have. A few seconds sure, but meh.
If u still use a hdd for your system drive then u are poor and/or stupid.
Deathclaw is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-21-2014, 04:23   #14
~Ahmed~
1337
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ****hole
Posts: 8,898
~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute~Ahmed~ has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathclaw View Post
If u still use a hdd for your system drive then u are poor and/or stupid.
i have 2 hdds
__________________
A brief taste of chaos will remind them why they crave obedience.
~Ahmed~ is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-21-2014, 04:27   #15
Deathclaw
Registered User
 
Deathclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10,127
Deathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond reputeDeathclaw has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Ahmed~ View Post
i have 2 hdds
And/or cannot read =]

For slow people:go SSD or go home
Deathclaw is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:51.


You Rated this Thread: