Conquer Online Forum - Free Kung Fu MMORPG

Conquer Online Forum - Free Kung Fu MMORPG (http://bbs.co.99.com/index.php)
-   Bugs (http://bbs.co.99.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Windows 7 Help/FAQ Thread (http://bbs.co.99.com/showthread.php?t=592518)

ChaosDealer73 01-13-2009 00:58

Windows 7 Help/FAQ Thread
 
Windows 7 Help Thread
Conquer Online does NOT support Windows 7. Use at your own risk! This thread is to help users, if possible!

Hello! This is to help people that have problems with the new version of Windows, Windows 7. Some users might find ways around the problems and this will be the place to help out other users.

If you have any problems or questions, please post here. As problems are solved, we will update this list so that you can easily find the answers if they exist.


PLEASE remember that Windows 7 is a new version of the Windows operating system and therefore not completely compatible with our software. There WILL be bugs with compatibility and you should have known that when you installed the operating system. Please do not get angry or frustrated, as CO was not made for Windows 7 and it will take some time before it is all squared away.

As per usual, there will be no spamming tolerated.


Hi guys, after the 5180 patch, some of the players still reported that they cannot play CO on win7. Fortunately, a warm-hearted player provided us a solution. So I wanna share it with all the players here. Please note that it might not work for all the palyers. Just hope it does some help.
1.
Go to the CO2 folder C:\Program Files (x86)\Conquer 2.0\zftqat
DELETE the file TQAT.exe
Copy the file NOTEPAD.exe from C:\Windows
Paste it to the folder C:\Program Files (x86)\Conquer 2.0\zftqat
Rename it now to TQAT.exe
(This lets CO fine the TQAT program but its not the same one so it does not execute the Anti-Trojan that crashes win7)
(Now CO2 Runs but lagss TERRIBLY BAD, the following fixed this)

2. Freeware Download
Download and install the program CCleaner from:
http://www.ccleaner.com
After installation run the REGISTRY "Scan for Issue" and let it fix all errors it finds.
As long as you have it, it's not a bad idea to clean the temp files too, but I do not think it's necessary.

3.
I thought this was free but I forgot I bought the program PC Pitstop Optimize3 (My mistake saying earlier it was free, sorry)
After installation run this program and allow it to fix all optimizations and registry fixes.

4.
Reboot your PC
I now play daily with Win7 and no lag.

ahmed_69 01-13-2009 02:14

I get BSoD(blue screen of death) whenever I try to open CO.

Applies to both 32 bit and 64 bit versions of Windows 7 beta. My ATI 4850 drivers are updated to the windows 7 8.12 catalyst drivers. I don't get BSoD with other games.

EDIT: Bypassed autopatch and it works fine now...

Conondrum 01-13-2009 13:41

It's not the autopatch that causes problems.
It's the Anti Trojan program that the issue.
Close it as soon as you see it start up (gotta be fast or BSOD will happen) and the game will run just fine, even with autopatch :)

ahmed_69 01-13-2009 14:12

Well either way...multi fixed it.

Hidewarrior 01-13-2009 19:27

that anti tojan program is one problem after another...
they should just get rid of it.

But this program is aiming at protecting your account, man. :P--------Cindy

CindyZ 01-14-2009 23:04

We haven't known much about this Windows 7 yet. So if you guys have any question or news about this, please post it here and I will keep an eye on it. Thanks. :0

Conondrum 01-15-2009 00:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hidewarrior (Post 9782306)
that anti tojan program is one problem after another...
they should just get rid of it.

Yeah I agree :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by CindyZ (Post 9782306)

But this program is aiming at protecting your account, man. :P--------Cindy

It doesn't really do anything that any other antivirus program can't do.
Most of the hack cases can be narrowed down to:
Account sharing/selling.
Sold accounts can easily be taken back, thus leaving the buyer thinking that he or she got hacked.
Besides.. If people are using hacks/bots, they really deserve to get hacked.
No need to use other programs like TQAT to prevent that.
Common sense is the best anti trojan program out there :p

CindyZ 01-15-2009 03:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by Conondrum (Post 9791026)
Yeah I agree :)



It doesn't really do anything that any other antivirus program can't do.
Most of the hack cases can be narrowed down to:
Account sharing/selling.
Sold accounts can easily be taken back, thus leaving the buyer thinking that he or she got hacked.
Besides.. If people are using hacks/bots, they really deserve to get hacked.
Well, I agree with you on this part, man :P
No need to use other programs like TQAT to prevent that.
Common sense is the best anti trojan program out there :p

But for this part, I cannot agree with you. Yeah, I have to admit that common sense is a quite good way to avoid being hacked. But sometimes, you cannot sense the virsus. :P Anyway, I will forward your suggestion to our decision maker.

Enima 01-15-2009 06:33

BsoD is not something related with CO its a bug related to Win7 itself , it could also happen even tough u closed the anti troj program of CO

Conondrum 01-15-2009 09:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by Enima (Post 9792026)
BsoD is not something related with CO its a bug related to Win7 itself , it could also happen even tough u closed the anti troj program of CO

I've only experienced BSODs when running CO with Anti Trojan.
No other game or program has caused BSODs on my installation of Windows 7.

ahmed_69 01-15-2009 21:30

Quote:

Originally Posted by Conondrum (Post 9792883)
I've only experienced BSODs when running CO with Anti Trojan.
No other game or program has caused BSODs on my installation of Windows 7.

Same for me. I'd say it's more of a CO problem than a Microsoft problem...

Enima 01-16-2009 04:33

ah ok cool =D , as ive read here it was a known issue for the time beeing of win 7 itself ( yes the magazine ive read is reliable as im an IT person and the magazine is from IT company aswell )

Shirou 01-25-2009 18:20

i been having problems with it after i patch the game it will do a memory dump and when i reboot my system it will not play the game

Himie 01-29-2009 12:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shirou (Post 9861961)
i been having problems with it after i patch the game it will do a memory dump and when i reboot my system it will not play the game

the memory dump is the blue screen of dead (notice how its all blue =o) try doing the fix of closing the antivirus before it appears or if you know how to rename the folder where it is located you probably wont get more BSoDs

Imperial_Legion 01-31-2009 11:10

Windows 7 Fix
 
Here is a link to the Fix for the anti-trojan BSoD..Please note this is fix was released by the Windows 7 Beta Group and is not made by TQ or Microsoft. But if ur having problems with Windows 7 and Conquer it fixes it. Make sure u run the program as administrator and in compatibility mode for Windows Vist. I'm not sure if u have to run in compatibility mode.. i did just incase lol.. http://www.mediafire.com/file/0wnmmm...-Fix-08933.exe

Endet 02-04-2009 21:44

Installed 7 just now and noticed the same problem.. Fixed it with removing the whole damn virus program all together, my virus program claimed it to be a trojan itself. <.< Which it kinda is.. Completely useless program since it can't notice ANY trojans/viruses in the folders at all.. Tested it out one day. :p

Can't seem to find any other problem with CO in the 7 other than that BSoD with the trojan remover.

CindyZ 02-08-2009 23:56

Are you sure that it is the anti-trojan program causes the problem of BSoD?

Endet 02-09-2009 00:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by CindyZ (Post 9952700)
Are you sure that it is the anti-trojan program causes the problem of BSoD?

Mmmyeah since once it's de-activated (by removing the .DLL file) there won't be ANY BSoD anymore. So yup, it's the anti-trojan program.. But honestly, why you even have it? It's useless since it won't detected any kind of trojans or anything else for the matter.

CindyZ 02-10-2009 00:49

As I said before, we add this anti-trojan program into the client aiming at protect your accounts. I will try the win 7 on my PC later.

Conondrum 02-10-2009 01:56

Quote:

Originally Posted by CindyZ (Post 9960309)
As I said before, we add this anti-trojan program into the client aiming at protect your accounts. I will try the win 7 on my PC later.

Why not make a poll and see if players want the anti-trojan program at all? :)

Edit: I hope you got your copy of Windows 7, the downloads ended today.

Endet 02-10-2009 02:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by Conondrum (Post 9960604)
Why not make a poll and see if players want the anti-trojan program at all? :)

Good idea... It's really more of a hassle than it's worth. =/

Miss. Pain 02-14-2009 12:54

I fixed the BSOD (Blue Screen Of Death) with the file Imperial_Legion placed below.

Now i see this little black popup and it shows: " Program to big to fit in memory".

Does anyone have an idea how to fix it?

starkill33 02-14-2009 15:11

i have to agree with the second method stated (delete the anti virus) i just did and if completely fixed the blue screen.. i deleted the whole folder and i would recommend every win7 user to do so...as long as your smart and dont get trojans on your computer

Endet 02-15-2009 09:33

Quote:

Originally Posted by starkill33 (Post 9991499)
i have to agree with the second method stated (delete the anti virus) i just did and if completely fixed the blue screen.. i deleted the whole folder and i would recommend every win7 user to do so...as long as your smart and dont get trojans on your computer

With a firewall and antivirus program theres no worries if you don't go to stupid sites and download whatever without thinking.

CindyZ 02-24-2009 22:42

So you all agree that deleting the anti-trojan file helps running CO on Win7, right?

Conondrum 02-24-2009 23:55

Quote:

Originally Posted by CindyZ (Post 10055376)
So you all agree that deleting the anti-trojan file helps running CO on Win7, right?

Yep, or simply just prevent it from running at all (can be added to Windows 7 DEP).

maisum 02-28-2009 13:38

Well, I removed the Anti-Virus and I get this...

http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/738/47200451.png

And when i run the diagnostics it says everything is fine...

Conondrum 02-28-2009 14:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by maisum (Post 10078087)
Well, I removed the Anti-Virus and I get this...

http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/738/47200451.png

And when i run the diagnostics it says everything is fine...

It has nothing to do with the anti-trojan program.
You probably need to install drivers for your graphics card (don't use the standard drivers that comes with Windows 7).
You can use Vista compatible drivers in Windows 7.

Kinsmir 03-02-2009 12:36

I'm also a windows 7 user, and i still get BSOD even after the hotfix.
So far, i have made a small fix for my self to bypass the Anti Trojan program until it's fixt. Just a small .bat compiled to .exe (really fast written). but it made the game start up much faster then close the anti trojan every time it launch (from 30/40 sec launch to 10 sec to launch)

I don't know if i'm allowed to post a link to the .exe here so i give you the source of it.
Quote:

@ECHO OFF
ECHO wow did you read this...
EXIT
If you want to use it have fun, i can help you convert it if you don't know how to. i don't give the .exe because i don't want to risk a warning/ban.

Conondrum 03-02-2009 12:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kinsmir (Post 10087636)
I'm also a windows 7 user, and i still get BSOD even after the hotfix.
So far, i have made a small fix for my self to bypass the Anti Trojan program until it's fixt. Just a small .bat compiled to .exe (really fast written). but it made the game start up much faster then close the anti trojan every time it launch (from 30/40 sec launch to 10 sec to launch)

I don't know if i'm allowed to post a link to the .exe here so i give you the source of it.


If you want to use it have fun, i can help you convert it if you don't know how to. i don't give the .exe because i don't want to risk a warning/ban.

LMAO
Nice batch.. A waste of time converting it to .exe though.. It won't add anything to it :p
It's easier to just delete the TQAT folder ;)

Kinsmir 03-02-2009 12:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by Conondrum (Post 10087654)
LMAO
Nice batch.. A waste of time converting it to .exe though.. It won't add anything to it :p
It's easier to just delete the TQAT folder ;)

didn't work for me to delete the folder (first thing i tried), it made my game crash. also it's done in a few sec to convert it into a .exe if you know what program to use.

Majin~Vegeta 03-02-2009 12:46

Theory of Specialization
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CindyZ (Post 9960309)
As I said before, we add this anti-trojan program into the client aiming at protect your accounts. I will try the win 7 on my PC later.

The simple thing I have against TQ trying to write an anti-virus program is that their focus is on writing games.

This means they are going to naturally write anti-virus software that is simply a runner-up to other companies who solely focus on writing anti-virus software.

I find it erroneous that TQ a game design company is trying to write anti-virus.

Personally I feel they would be way better off allocating that extra resource/time towards improving their games.

Their main concern should be trying to design new games and revise the old ones to try and compete for making a popular game.

Right now it would seem Blizzard is to the gaming industry as Microsoft is to software and operating systems.

This is not to say anything bad about any of these companies.

This is simply to say that TQ should stick to what it does best, and needs to give all it has got at trying to compete with the gaming giants out there.

Imagine making a game that sold as much as World Of Warcraft, brought you subscription revenue every month, AND you had an equilavent system to buying Dragonballs (or whatever equivalent item) in that game.

That would be some serious income!

Conondrum 03-02-2009 12:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kinsmir (Post 10087664)
didn't work for me to delete the folder (first thing i tried), it made my game crash. also it's done in a few sec to convert it into a .exe if you know what program to use.

I fail to see how it would resolve the anti trojan app from running.
All your batch does is calling the echo command to type a message on the screen and then it exits :confused:

Kinsmir 03-02-2009 13:02

Quote:

Originally Posted by Conondrum (Post 10087733)
I fail to see how it would resolve the anti trojan app from running.
All your batch does is calling the echo command to type a message on the screen and then it exits :confused:

i fail also, it's my last try (i kinde got sick of the closing the anti trojan app). also i found something else because of it isn't closing with a error now so it's boot many times faster.

CindyZ 03-17-2009 02:13

Do you still have problem in playing CO with win 7?

TheOneAndOnly4E 03-18-2009 23:06

Hey guys I use windows 7 too i know the bug with the Trojan programm but i got a other one.

I installed often and patched but i can't fix it

http://s10b.directupload.net/images/090319/g7uo6e3c.jpg

someone can help me ?!

Conondrum 03-18-2009 23:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheOneAndOnly4E (Post 10175095)
Hey guys I use windows 7 too i know the bug with the Trojan programm but i got a other one.

I installed often and patched but i can't fix it

someone can help me ?!

It's a common problem, even with XP and Vista.
You need to adjust the DPI settings for your desktop, set it to 96 DPI.
Rightclick on an empty space on your desktop, select 'Personalize'
Then select 'Display' (located in the lower left side of the screen).
Finally select 'Set custom text size (DPI)' and set the scaling to 'Smaller - 100%' and click 'Apply'
Now your scaling will be set to 96 DPI which CO requires to look normal.

TheOneAndOnly4E 03-19-2009 06:12

ty

xxVxx 03-22-2009 14:17

I have Conquer working in Windows 7 Beta, but its hella slow. 4 to 5 fps and complete screen freeze every 20 seconds or so

I know its only Beta but I hope this is resolved soon. Conquer runs fine in Vista btw, so obviously a compatability problem that TQ hasn't looked at yet

And oh, Im using the latest ATI drivers that support Windows 7. Other games work fine, its just Conquer

Himie 03-22-2009 14:54

Quote:

Originally Posted by xxVxx (Post 10193285)
I have Conquer working in Windows 7 Beta, but its hella slow. 4 to 5 fps and complete screen freeze every 20 seconds or so

I know its only Beta but I hope this is resolved soon. Conquer runs fine in Vista btw, so obviously a compatability problem that TQ hasn't looked at yet

And oh, Im using the latest ATI drivers that support Windows 7. Other games work fine, its just Conquer

its not a compatibility problem only you have this so nothing TQ should fix


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:20.